It Takes Practice

It takes practice to get better at things in life, and in my case, it take practice to be better at what I do in the field I’m currently working in.

I recently had my six month review, and although I’m part-time, my supervisors’ made it clear to me I’m doing better than I think I’m doing. I knew the obvious things I was doing that were benefitting me and the company, such as being on time (punctuality) and being willing to communicate.  I’m only part time and I don’t know everything there is to know about being a behavioral interventionist still. I still don’t always understand all the goals in which I’m supposed to be helping the children reach. It’s a new field to me still and it takes practice to become more natural at what I’m supposed to be doing.

Practice makes perfect, isn’t that what we hear anyway? I don’t think anyone can ever become perfect, especially since work fields are constantly changing due to new technology and new methods that are found every day.

I’m not perfect, nor will I ever be. We all have our strengths and our weaknesses, and for someone like me it’s hard to see my own weaknesses, although I appreciate when people point them out because then it gives me a goal.

I’m used to practicing for years on things, such as riding horses and formatting papers correctly. It because second nature to us once we continuously practice in the areas we want to grow in. Now if we don’t want to change, we will never grow and that is one thing we all seem to learn the hard way. I myself don’t like change, and I don’t like it when people point out my flaws. But, like I said, it makes me realize what I’m doing isn’t correct or appropriate and I become more aware and practice changing the things I’m doing that others are noticing.

It takes practice in order to better ourselves, and it never hurts to work on being the better version of ourselves. And with that I will leave you with this quote:

“Practice is the hardest part of learning, and training is the essence of transformation.”
― Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

 

Leave a Reply

